Poet to Poem

Poem, we are not so different, you and I;

We are born of an idea

To fill the blankness of the page

Yearning to express, to connect,

And perhaps reveal some truth

Before we come

To an end.

 
 

Day 15: “A poem that addresses itself (ie ‘Dear Poem)”. Originally I had this in five verses but couldn’t quite work it into the shape I wanted …  I posted the original in the comments, feel free to let me know your opinion

This entry was posted in Poetry Barn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poet to Poem

  1. 2youth says:

    Poem, we are not so different, you and I
    We are born of an idea
    To fill the blankness of the page
    Yearning to express, to connect,
    And perhaps reveal some truth

    Rhyme, you and me think alike
    Craving another to form a pair
    attracted by similarity bound in our difference
    We link to one, then another
    Meeting and separating like couples in a waltz

    Metaphor, I know you as I know myself
    Our intentions twist a meandering course
    Riddle muddies the stream to make clear the answer
    Understanding ourselves as reflected in every other thing
    Dressing our reality in a fantastical garb
    to make meaning of the mundane

    Verse, You and I are much the same
    Constrained in meter to keep the rhythm
    To fall in line with the oarsmens drum
    Then
    Break
    Into
    Free Verse
    Abstract flow, direction determined by wind, choices written by birds yelling through windows, dance wildly and dancing to the 
    Music 
    Of 
    Gods 
    Unseen

    Poem, we are not so different, you and I
    born of an idea
    We dance with words,
    play our way across the page
    Hinting at some meaning between the lines
    And ultimately, when all is said, our words spent
    We come to an end

Leave a Reply

