Poem to Stick in Your Spokes

Poem to stick in your spokes

I am a ball of flailing legs and arms and dirt and dust
Tumbling over and under myself along this rooty trail
Once I was walking, no, once I was running
Powerful feet pounding forward in a rhythm
Arms swinging in synchronicity
Eyes firmly forward, flicking occasionally down as I jumped a twisted snarl or fallen log
But the roots and stones were too many and my gait was a fragile equilibrium
So now I tumble on forward head over heels over head
Grabbing at branches as I pass, a shoe flying out of the cloud to catch on a far away branch
Hoping only that somewhere somehow I will land back on my feet

Day 24?? No prompt just literally my life right now

This entry was posted in Poetry Barn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

